Menu May 12, 2013
28 29 30 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1

Latest News from

Spotsylvania School Notes


Battlefield Elementary

The following fifth-grade students were winners in the D.A.R.E. Essay Contest:

Matthew Butchers, Christopher Haro, Sophia Scott, Jennifer Torres, Adam Scott, Tristan Kitchens, Ziora Ajeroh, Jordan Allende, Bryce Jones, Cora Beltan, Thomas Newman, Kalee Reinhart, Olivia Byram, Gaby Rivas, Kylee Tuebner, Savannah Spaven, Natalie Masaitis, Nolan Rose, Joyce Ellis, Grace Figueroa, Connor Adkins, Hannah Hadeed and Luke Wintersgill.

The following students were recognized for showing kindness the third nine weeks:

Third grade—Alice Oliva, Johan Ramirez–Cruz, Lily Martinez, Andrew Le, Cora Glazer, Selah Macmurray, Trenton James, Logan Joines, Sydni O’Neal, Jaidan Schottel, Julian James, Christian Law

Fourth grade—Matthew Gonzalez, Katie Stafford, Makenna Billig, Aquib Razaq, Kate Tharp, Alexa Kincaid, Jason Lomax

Fifth grade—Gabriela Rivas, Nicolas Gregory, Justyn Flores, Cristina Cruz, Tanya Sancen, Angel Kenny, McKenzie Rodick, Ashley Mata–Medrano

—Sandra Decatur

Chancellor Elementary

The Chancellor Running Club awards ceremony was held May 1, and many students were recognized for their accomplishments.

As a group, the running club logged in 4,123 miles this school year.

Fourth-grader Anna Jockin ran the most miles for the girls and third-grader Luke Jockin logged in the most miles for the boys.

The following students are members of the 100-mile club: Luke Jockin, 117 miles; Colin Berghoff, 107 miles; Logan Suber, 104 miles; Anna Jockin, 102 miles; Joe Durocher, 102 miles; Heather Groel, 100 miles; Samatha Sandoval, 100 miles; Jonna Berghoff, 100 miles; Kaden Cortez, 100 miles, Eric Miller, 100 miles; Sam Towns-hend; 100 miles.

Top fifth-graders were Autumn Townshend and Ben Covert.

Top fourth-graders were Anna Jockin and Joe Durocher.

Top third-graders were Luke Jockin and Jordan Durocher.

Top second-graders were Bailey Carter and Logan Suber.

Top first-graders were Katey Clemovich and Evan McIntosh.

Top kindergartners were Jackie Dickinson, Danny Bolas and Ben Finch.

—Amy Clodius

Courthouse Road Elementary

The fourth-grade students of Brenda Nettles and Michelle Sims recently entered a poetry contest sponsored by Creative Communication. This is not a contest in which every entry is invited to be published. In fact, thousands of entries were received and not invited to be published.

The following students’ poems were selected to be included in the anthology, “A Celebration of Poets”:

Brenda Nettles’ class—Madison Edgell, Briana Fitton, Austin Houk, Queen Walker, Ayden Zuchowski

Michelle Sims’ class—Shane Batten, Isabelle Bird, Andrea Franzen, Christopher Glunt, Nia Hall, Katie Hernandez, Knellege Nelson, Caitlyn Segrest.

—Michelle Sims.

Battlefield Middle

Battlefield Middle School has chosen Melissa Mansfield as their 2012–2013 Mentor Teacher of the Year. Mrs. Mansfield teaches Computer Concepts.

—Vicki Ullrich

Ni River Middle

Students in Pam Allen’s eighth-grade art class were commissioned by Giant Food on State Route 3 at Harrison Crossing to paint a mural of “The Free Bridge” for the café section inside Giant. The mural is approximately 18 feet wide and 7 feet tall and was painted at Ni River on masonite boards on the floor of the classroom, then delivered to Giant. Giant selected the subject of the mural, a Civil War-era scene of the Rappahannock River in which the bridge is pictured as a wood structure, and a young Confederate is fishing on the bank of the river. Students spent three weeks painting the mural. Giant donated all the funds for the project to the school for this collaboration. Students who participated in the mural are Natasha Gaito, Hailey Bushey, Ronnie DiRusso, Ryan McCall, Emiko Williams, Keri Willis, Brent Wyant, K’andra Law, Brandon Plaster, Emily Patten and Brittany Miller.

The Beta Club raised $154.75 for the American Red Cross during its April meeting. Students brought in donations and walked around an activity circuit.

The following Ni River students earned recognition in the annual Eta Sigma Phi classical essay contest sponsored by the Beta Nu chapter at the University of Mary Washington:

  • First place—Skyler Moon
  • Second place—Elizabeth Hall
  • Honorable Mention—Morgan Johns.

—Barbara McWhirt

Thornburg Middle

The following students were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society: Sylvia Harris, Amanda Hensen, Sylvea Marie Koolhof, Sarah Bostain, Sierra Nicole Davis, Allison Jones, Anna Butler, Jasmine Brown, Samuel Brown, Rebekah Fogarty, Julia Maldonado, Nicholas J. Zins, Jessica Rae Stone, Caitlyn Kirtley, Timothy K. Garnett II, Sabrina E. Jones, Gregory Steven Curry, Jessica Lynn Natale, Jordan Jalen Robinson, Morgan Johnson, Kiara Michele Toler, Samuel Houchin, Toniesha LaMary Gordon, Makayla Harris, Ana Elizabeth Haines, Carleigh Alexandra Van Reenen, Seth Ryan Williamson, Jada Fox, Forrest McGlone, Ja’Miyah A. Price, Kendra Nicole Boone, Allison Foster, Jordan Davis Palomares, Sydney Anderson, Calista Rose Rieken, John Ryan Roberson, Kaylee D. Wedding, Nigee Dion Watson, Grace Elizabeth Alexander, Caitlin Woodford, Anaya J. Lewis, Grace Everts, Audrey Cavendish, Madison Wallace.

The cermony was conducted by Catie Adams, Brea Dobson, Patrick Foreman, Madi Schickel, Jisselle Montero, Allison Criss, Jarrett Bailey, Josh Sullivan, Maria Cornett, Brandon Sims, Anna Tippett, Mallory Cunningham, Lindsay Stynes and Taylor Maturo.

—Deb McMullan



Story 11 of 27
Advertisement Close